stina

mumblings and musings

sadness. December 5, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — burbunny @ 9:41 pm

Erica Murray passed away last night and I am overcome with sadness.  I had just posted a cheery post a moment ago and went to her blog to check on the status.  Here is the posting from her sister, Jaci:

Last night, December 4th, 2008, at 11:35pm, Erica Jean Murray passed away. It was a calm and peaceful moment… she simply took a few deep breaths and fell asleep. We held her hands, stroked her face, whispered our love and hope for her to find peace…

The last week has been a beautiful and natural progression of tears and laughter, memories and hope… I am confident that her spirit will never leave us.

There is one moment in particular I would like to share… Yesterday afternoon, we were able to wheel Erica’s entire bed outside into the garden to enjoy the sun and perfect California weather. We sat with her for nearly two hours and I’m certain she enjoyed this.

The funeral will be held Tuesday, Dec. 9th at 10:00am at Our Lady of Mt. Carmel Church (400 Fullton Street, Redwood City, CA). After the service, we will have a Celebration of Life at our dear friends’ home, The Wang’s (214 Olive Hill Lane, Woodside, CA). The Celebration will follow after the church service until 4pm. Due to the number of people who love Erica, we are prepared to accommodate everyone with valet services at the Wang’s home. Additionally, we ask that in lieu of flowers, please make a donation in Erica’s name to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

Personally, my heart hurts. I am grateful for her release of pain, but so selfishly want her near me, to grow old with me, and fulfill all the dreams we had together. I acknowledge that I may never fully heal from this experience–and that’s ok. I don’t want to forget this raw ache because I believe it will be my guide to live a life she would be proud of… I will miss her smile, her kisses, and her unwavering support… oh, the list of things I will miss can go on forever… my soulmate…

The last three years has shown me what it is to feel truly thankful. I am thankful for time with Erica to tell her daily that I love her… I am forever grateful to the support team that has built up around me and my family. Words don’t begin to scratch the surface of my gratitude and I know that I will try my hardest to repay these kindnesses.

I hope you all can find a sense of peace too….
My heartfelt sympathy goes to her entire family and network of close friends.  She will be missed.  I am so sad.

 

Leave a Reply

